Labels – and a Giveaway

In the very early days of The Knitting Goddess we used to use skein bands. We used to print them out ourselves. Even then it wasn’t a quick job.

Then we moved to having tag labels – and labelling up yarn became one of my least favourite jobs.

With the changes to the business we needed space to get nore information on our labels.

So it’s back to skein bands. This time we won’t be printing them. Instead they turn up in two heavy boxes.

IMG_3869

One tiny but highly significant change is the wording of our tag line.

It was

“Luxury yarns hand dyed in Harrogate”

Now it reads

“British yarns hand dyed in Harrogate”

For now everything that we sell will have British wool. At the moment that might include British Falkland, but we’re aiming to have all of our wool grown, processed and spun in the UK by the end of the year. There are amazing UK grown wools out there and it seems mad to ship wool half way round the world when there’s great stuff almost on my doorstep.

IMG_3871

The next change to the label is the addition of the new company name.

The final change is that we’ll have more space for the information that used to have to fit onto the back of the tag label. This means we can give you more information about where yarn comes from, where it’s processed and where it’s spun.

IMG_3875

It’s all good, and it makes it even easier for customers to see what they’re buying. Until now I’ve been conscious that we can put lots more information on the website, but not everything goes on the label.

To celebrate the arrival of our new labels we’re giving away the scrap ball featured in the photos in this post.

To be in with a chance of winning, leave me a comment telling me what you love most about British wool. Comments on the blog are moderated, so if you haven’t commented before it will take a bit of time for your comment to show up.

I’ll pick a random winner on Friday 8th April at 1800. The competition is open to everyone no matter where they live. One entry per person. My decision on the winner is final and no alternative prize will be offered.

UPDATE 8th April – the winner has been drawn – congratulations to comment number 54 which is Sue. Many, many thanks to everyone who entered.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

69 Responses to Labels – and a Giveaway

  1. Trisha Thomas says:

    The quality, the way it knits up, and the fact that I’m supporting British sheep farmers.

  2. Freyalyn says:

    Not an entry for the scrap ball (though I could say fantastic things about British wool) but just to say the bands look really smart, and it’s an excellent way to get lots more of lovely info about British wool. Once again, you set the benchmark for other indie dyers to aspire to.

  3. Glenda says:

    I love British wool because of the variety that you can get. There is a British yarn for every purpose. Also because people are surprised that we don’t just produce crunchy prickly yarns. But there are lovely soft luscious breeds as well.

  4. Fiona says:

    I love British Yarn because of the support we give to British Farmers. Also there is a fantastic variety giving different textures. I especially love Shetland yarn.

  5. knithive says:

    British wool is brilliant because it is squishy, it is up for the highs and lows of UK weather, buying it helps lovely British sheep breeds as well as lovely British shepherds and lessens the impact on the environment and it is altogether lovely. What’s not to love?

  6. I think there’s something deep about being connected to the land around you, the animals and farmers sharing your space, that local material adds to the experience of knitting. That sounds a bit crunchy, but maybe I am!

  7. Debbie Lane says:

    I love British yarn as not only is it top quality and knits up beautifully, but we also look after our sheep and I think that shows in their beautiful fleeces.

  8. Sue Rowland says:

    A skein of your “Shark Infested Custard” was a gift to me from a UK friend. British wool is a luxurious novelty for me, as I generally source local here in Australia. I adore hand-dyed!

  9. pcollingwood says:

    I like using British Wool because there is a good choice of texture, weight and colour. Also when using it I know I am helping British farmers and yarn producers.

  10. Hannah Jones says:

    I love that British wool is part of our history. I’m from Bradford and the majority of my grandparents and great-grandparents worked in Bradford’s wool trade. I feel like I am keeping that alive by using wool from Britain and wool having an association with this region x

  11. Amy Taylor says:

    The variety of British wool is amazing – something for everything and everyone. I’ve been branching out into spinning the longer wools recently, and the sheen and drape you get with it was a genuine surprise.
    Also, I love the new labels, and yay for an easier alternative for you!!

  12. Alice says:

    I love British yarn because it is such a beautiful symbol of the UK’s textile heritage- one of the few still around! It’s still the luxury that Britain is known for and comes in so many varieties.

  13. It’s the best wool! Supporting British farmers and mills. Also buying local is more environmentally friendly.

  14. Patricia says:

    I love the british yarns because itΒ΄s fair and supports the british farmer
    Like your new labes!

  15. I love British Wool because it is grown on the back of animals that live in the same climate that I do. It seems to make sense to me that the fleece grown by animals that are suited to the UK will be suitable to someone who lives there too.

  16. I love knowing that in buying british wool I’m helping to support and maintain small businesses all over the uk, in a sustainable and environmentally friendly way. Helps that they’re fab too…

  17. I always try to use as many British products as I can and support small industries so I love British wool. It’s also great quality!

  18. Amy says:

    If we don’t support local industry we can’t protect local industry. I’m in Yorkshire too, and while I know the majority of sheep in our green fields are bred for meat, I’d rather their wool also be a valued resource that can be ploughed back into the local community.
    I won’t ever buy only-British wool (I like possum-blends too much and luckily there are no possums in the UK) but your stance is a credit to you.

  19. Rachel Ross says:

    I love to know the back story of where the wool came from. There is also the Sheepy smell that you get with British wool. What’s not to enjoy?

  20. Sophie bertolotti says:

    I like the great variety of breeds, and ways of blending, processing then dyeing than can finally give so many different yarns to knit!

  21. Anne Bradley says:

    I love British wool, it knits up so well and with such a fabulous resource in the uk, why would we import yarn from abroad?? It gets my vote!! Ps, the labels look awesome!!

  22. Jackie James says:

    SHEEP RESCUERS R US, !πŸπŸ‘ Over the years my partner and I, seem to have come to the aid of a number of sheep all over Britain, from Scotland to Devon ….pulling them out from snow drifts, rivers, ditches, barbed wire fences, not to mention catching any number of escapees on busy roads. Not always an easy feat especially as we are ‘southern softies’ not especially used to handling animals…except our dog – a border collie who quivers at the sight of a sheep! Knitting with British wool is a much easier way of rescuing and supporting these beautiful animals with quality guaranteed. 🐏

  23. Sharon says:

    British wool? Let’s help save British sheep, British sheep farmers, air miles and the planet!

  24. British wool is my first choice – keeping those ‘yarn miles’ to a minimum.

  25. Anja says:

    I’m a German knitter who always loved and loves travelling the British Ilses. And it is such wonderful variety you can’t get from our local producers. But mainly it’s quite emotional for me.

  26. Ashley Morton says:

    British wool is incredibly soft and warm. I love working with it! I’m an American who will be visiting the UK this summer and I can’t wait to visit some British wool shops while I’m abroad!

  27. Laura Roberts says:

    I love that I can be knitting with a wool that could, quite possibly, be from a sheep I meet on my walks with my boyfriend and dog!

  28. Judith Cable says:

    What I find so exciting about British wool is being able to access it so easily online through sellers you can trust – that way you can discover all the different breeds and know you are supporting homegrown industries.

  29. Leta says:

    Your British wool is so lush and beautiful! And I applaud you for using and supporting your local resources.

  30. vipera78 says:

    I love most that I can support local businesses and that the pollution of flying yarn and wool round the globe is kept to a minimum.

  31. Blithespirit says:

    Those labels look fantastic. British wool – where do I start with how wonderful it is? I was just at EYF and salivating over all the gorgeous varieties, textures, colours, smells, of British fibres. For me it’s the huge variety of breeds and natural shades and how hand-dyers play with those undertones to enrich their own colours.

  32. Russell pettit says:

    I love British wool because of its wonderful quality and the care and passion shown by those that produce it

  33. Alaina Sluys says:

    I love British wool because of the love that is put into it from the love the farmers have for their sheep all the way to the love of the consumers of the yarn.

  34. Excellent news! I love British wool, because it’s so interesting to explore. So many different ‘characters’ to knit up and different purposes for them. I also believe we need not just to support our British farmers and British sheep – but to dispel the nonsense beliefs that often exist about British wool being somehow inferior and unwearable.

  35. Stephanie says:

    I discovered British Yarn when I was at the EYF. Now I knit a pair of socks with The Knitting Goddess Yarn and I really like the stripes of color.

  36. Jane says:

    Products like these are a win-win….I support another maker/small business person and I get to create with exceptional quality materials!

  37. I love supporting British farmers, British wool knits so well & looks gorgeous whether still in skein form or knitted up as a finished project

  38. My head loves British wool because it’s much better for the environment, not having to travel so far to get to me, and because it’s good to support our local sheep farmers and yarn producers. My heart loves British wool because there is so much wonderful variety, from the hardest-wearing to the softest of soft, there is so much yarny loveliness to explore.

  39. I buy British Wool to support the Farmers, spinners, the dyers and also my fellow knitters. I can’t think of anything better!

  40. Pam Robertshaw says:

    I love British yarn because it supports our fantastic British Farmers (oh and it’s gorgeous too!)

  41. merialc says:

    Low travel miles make British yarn an environmentally friendly option!

    Also, it’s great to see a local product turned into something beautiful!

  42. Ali follen says:

    I too love British wool, as it is,well, so British. It is quiet, well behaved, understated but totally and utterly brilliant. It knits up like a dream and is easy peasy to keep looking good for many years. It smells great! Without sheep the wild places of the lakes and moors would just not look the same, so British sheep keep the landscape amazing and the people who look after these places and those who visit them warm and toasty !

  43. kn1tw1t says:

    My favourite thing about British wool is that I know the animals are well cared for, wool from some parts of the world is sourced under horrific conditions to animals and humans and I like knowing that the wool I use is ‘happy’ wool πŸ˜†

  44. Judith says:

    Local support and great yarn is a winning combination.

  45. Alex says:

    I love British wool because of its high luxurious quality. I also love the way it smells – it’s earthy, connection to nature.

  46. Pingback: And We’re Back | The Knitting Goddess Blog

  47. Silvercloud says:

    As a “mature” knitter who has been knitting on and off for ever, I marvel at how much knowledge and information is out there now about British wool. Thanks to Louise (Knit British) I have become very keen on using British wool and support all those lovely small businesses that have sprung up. My philosophy on Ravelry when choosing a new pattern now is firstly search for a British Wool that will fit the bill to knit it in. Consequently, I’m delighted with the direction you have decided to further take your business in – good luck! πŸ™‚

  48. Tig says:

    British wool – it already has plenty of experience of British weather!

  49. I love that the armwarmers I’ve just finished were knitted using wool that was grown (and dyed) on a farm less than 20 miles away from me – the wool is soft, bouncy, was a delight to knit and they are warmer than my other hand knit armwarmers (done in 75/25 wool/nylon blend) grown and dyed who knows where! I also love the variety of British wools, I firmly believe there is something for every purpose.

  50. Deb Brewer says:

    Definitely supporting british people, putting money into our own economy, and celebrating our heritage!

  51. Opallady says:

    I love to knit with wool that will be useful for the next generation. Most British wool that has made it across The Pond and into my life (and it is a fair bit) will be suitable for wearing 50 years from now.

  52. I haven’t used it before, but in seeing how. Beautiful it looks, would love. To try it! Love making scarves! Margaret Earle, Talladega, Al.

  53. Nothing like knitting with quality and British wool is an absolute treat!

  54. Andrea says:

    I love British wool as we have a great variety and it supports British farmers πŸ™‚

  55. Sue says:

    I love that I can have gorgeous yarns and know that British farmers are being helped.

  56. Joanne Cummins says:

    I like to think that I’m supporting our British farmers and love the quality of the yarn.

  57. Helen says:

    British wool has character just like its farmers, dyers and spinners. It is also squishy but I’m not sure about the farmers, dyers and spinners.

  58. Ronnie says:

    I was so shocked the first time I knit with British wool- I didn’t even worry about whether or not the item would be durable. I have to say over 25+ years of knitting, my sweater made with British wool is the only item to have survived. It didn’t pill, It didn’t split, shrink or change colors…it is very much the same as when I first knit it and I wear it every year! Since that time, I have purchased and used British wool on many many gifts knit for others and have heard them say the same thing. I don’t know why it is this way, but it is and I support British wool one hundred percent- why mess with perfection!

  59. Pingback: Shop Update 08.04.16 | The Knitting Goddess Blog

  60. Karen Way says:

    British wool has come such a long way since the limited sratchy yarns of old. There is now so much choice and we should support our own yarns, especially the small business’s, otherwise we will lose them. Hurrah for British Wool is what I say 😍

  61. Elizabeth Martin says:

    Knitting with British wool, for me, encapsulates all that I love about the British countryside, especially the wild places of the uplands that I miss so much. Its feel and smell transport me away from my dull lowland home, helps my mind to roam freely over northern hills and islands, and never fails to give me great pleasure.

  62. I love that it’s all about different breeds, not just “wool”.

  63. Angela says:

    I love the quality and sheepiness of British wool, and how it has increased my knowledge of British sheep breeds in this country.

  64. Mrs Derin K Jones says:

    I love British wool because I’m British! What else would I use?

  65. Pamela Harrelson says:

    What I love most about British wool? That’s difficult. It’s just the coziest! And it’s so durable. And, of course the Knitting Goddess just makes it the best.

  66. Kim Parker says:

    British wool – name says it all really! No air miles, low carbon footprint, keeping money in the British economy, natural fibre, handled with love and care!

  67. HelenMc says:

    so much time and effort goes into the knitting – it is interesting to know the full history of the yarn and that it is a local yarn

  68. Jane MacDonald says:

    I love the textures and the colours.

  69. illymerrynieps says:

    Well Joy, as a knitter and spinner, what’s not to love about British wool. I am in the process of spinning and knitting up as many of the British sheep breeds as possible for our Guild, with another guild member and good friend. I have managed to persuade a few people to look at the provenance of their yarn and shown them, with a multitude of swatches, Wensleydale and Teeswater to rival alpaca, the softness of Polworth and who knew Norh Ronaldsey looked so beautiful in the light. If I win with this comment, the prize will go to my buddy in swatch making! Thanks for promoting this under utilised resource. Go us!

Leave a Reply

