Space

The week between Christmas and New Year is one of my favourite times of the year.

It’s not that it’s especially quiet. The end of year sale is on in the shop, and there are parcels to pack.

The club parcels for Europe need to be stamped to they can be posted tomorrow.

But that aside it feels like there’s space to think and to plan. Space to think about projects for next year (and space to think long enough that I realise that some of those thoughts are crazy, unworkable and not really what I want to do at all).

Lots of knitters seem to love a plan. So many pairs of socks to be knitted in the coming year. Or shawls. Or garments. Or everything.

In 2016 I’ll be knitting all of the Back to Discworld sock yarns into socks for Bobbie. 12 pairs of vanilla socks, so plenty of travel knitting.

I know that I want to do more sewing, so over the next few days I’ll be sorting though the fabric stash and patterns and marrying them up. I’d like to have made 12 garments by the end of the year – not all for me, although several will be.

I want to play with some screen printing techniques and develop different designs. I also want to start printing onto paper. There are plenty of plans for that.

Lots of plans for things that feel like exciting opportunities.

What are you planning for 2016?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

