Ten Things To Celebrate About Woolly Wormhead

I was delighted to be asked to take part in the blog tour that’s a celebration of ten years of Woolly Wormhead and amazing hat designs.

There have been a lovely collection of blog posts, and I’ll link to those at the bottom of this post in case you’ve missed any.

One thing that’s been immediately obvious from all of the blog posts is how much Woolly is admired and loved as a person as well as designer.

So I thought I’d use my post to talk about ten things about Woolly Wormhead which I feel deserve a bit more celebrating.

1. All of the hats. The hats are amazing. I can’t think of another designer who has taken one thing and explored it in so many different ways. During 2015 I’ve knitted my way through Painted Woolly Toppers and each design brought a fresh way of constructing a hat.

2. Woolly at shows. It’s a treat to watch Woolly at work, persuading people that yes, they can wear hats and putting exactly the right thing on their heads. Bonus points are gained for doing this and not saying “told you so” when someone decides that they can wear hats after all.

3. Woolly co-habits with Princess Fi. I say co-habits as I don’t think you ever own a cat. I love Princess Fi. She’s one of my favourite instagram cats, and her failures to become a expert mouser have amused me greatly.

4. It takes a lot of bravery to admit to having a less than perfect life.Woolly has this in abundance. Reading her words about how she copes (or struggles) with depression have made me admire her all the more. I have no doubt that there are a lot of people who’ve been helped by what she’s written.

5. Packing Skills. One thing I hugely admire about Woolly is her frankly magical ability to get everything she needs for a show into a suitcase. She blogged about that here, and every time I find myself jamming things into the car as we get ready for a show I remember this. Then I want to weep……

6. Designing with – well let’s say colourful – yarns. Like a lot of dyers I love getting to play with lots of colour, and I adore the chance to put lots of colours together in a  skein. Most designers would sooner work with semi solid or solid colours. Painted Woolly Toppers was such a fresh look at working with multi coloured yarns. I was thrilled that one of my yarns was used, and even more chuffed when it ended up on the front cover.

Front.Cover.Final.1.LR.Border_smallImage Copyright Woolly Wormhead

7. Telling it how it is. I love when people are honest about the realities of their jobs. Anyone who is self employed will have highs and lows. Moments of triumph, moments when it all seems like a complete waste of time. It’s something that Woolly writes about with a great deal of eloquence, and it always gives me lots to think about. There’s an amazing post about the true costs of publishing a pattern that highlights lots of costs that most people would never think of. It’s not a moan or a whine of self pity – anything but. It’s a true reflection of how hard it is to make a living as a a designer.

8. Being inspiring. How can you fail to be inspired by someone who keeps on keeping on? It’s something to celebrate in so many ways – as an inspiration, as an idea of what’s possible and as a reminder that we’re capable of more than we think.

9. Designing my favourite hat. This is Giostra from Painted Woolly Toppers.

giostra2

 

I love this hat. Knitted in chunky BFL roving, this is an ultra quick knit which is flattering to wear. So flattering that I’ve already been asked to make several for friends. During the winter I’ll have a hat on very day at work – let’s just say that an unheated workshop really makes you appreciate hand knits. I know that I’ll enjoy putting this on every morning as I head out of the door to put the dye pots on.

10. Ten years is awesome. A whole decade of hats. Of thoughtful blog posts. Of being a good friend. Here’s to the next ten!

Woolly has very kindly offered a prize – and I’m gutted that I’m not allowed to enter. As well as the single pattern of your choice, Woolly will also send the winner a handmade project bag.

To enter, all you need to do is leave me a comment telling me

  1. What Woolly Wormhead pattern you would like to win
  2. What your favourite colour is.

I’ll pick a winner next Sunday (6th December) at 1800 UK time.

Good luck

Joy

The Blog Tour so far

CoopKnits

Katya Frankel

Claire Devine

Carol Feller

 

The next stop on the blog tour is Susan Crawford. Susan will be blogging on the 7th of December.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Ten Things To Celebrate About Woolly Wormhead

  1. africandaffodil says:

    Next in my wish list of WW patterns is Quynn. I love making hats for small people and this looks great for keeping ears warm when playing outside. My favourite colour is green in all its different hues.

  2. 4basil says:

    Although I ‘m not a designer and my life situation ‘s completely different, still I can relate a lot to things Woolly writes in her blog and it’s also a support, motivation and inspiration for myself.
    Thanks, Woolly ❤︎
    I love all colours with a hint of sun in them except neons, harsh pinks, pastels and black.
    Already a long while I ‘d want to knit a new hat for my hubby. He’s more classic, I hesitate between Staggered and Geko Beanie.

  3. Toni says:

    Next on my wish list is Tamya for my daughter who looks quite lovely in berets. No one favorite color; love earth tones and fall colors.

  4. Giostra (hadn’t spotted it before) fav colour is deep sky blue 🙂

  5. Isobel says:

    I like the look of Symetrie. I think it would look good in blues and greys.

  6. Sharon says:

    Think I’d make Quoin, maybe even try it for my husband who has a habit of wearing woolly hats in a silly-looking way!

    Favourite colour(s) blues/greens/purples. He likes greens.

  7. Kay says:

    It’s so hard to choose just one! The one I keep coming back to is Gallone, though. My favorite colour is green – everything from yellow greens to deepest darkest blue greens.

  8. Marla says:

    I want to knit Marina. I’ve not tried a sideways construction and it looks fabulous in variegated yarns. Favorite colours are greys.

  9. Marla says:

    I am intrigued by the sideways knit hat, so my choice would be Marina.
    Favorite colours are greys.

  10. LizFM says:

    I think my favorite of her hats it Tucked. But it’s a hard choice. My favorite color is turquoise. 🙂

  11. pnrichkus says:

    I’ve been in love with Coldharbour Twist, though it’s very hard to pick just one. Quoin is irresistible so I shall likely click it into my basket in the meantime. I’m thrilled to have gotten into one of WW’s classes at the Edinburgh Wool Festival next March!

  12. Giostra 🙂 summer’s day deep sky blue

  13. Jane McAtee says:

    I LOVE all of your comments about WW, who I admire from afar for all of the reasons you listed.

    My next hat, already started, is Tucked. And then a second Skelter….. My favorite colors are in the green to teal range

  14. Kat says:

    Woolly Wormhead is such a blessing!

    The next pattern on my list is Buzzba! I’m trying to add color to my black wardrobe, and my favorite right now is a rusty orange.

    Have a beautiful day!

  15. Trisha Thomas says:

    I would choose Cold Harbour Twist. Love the way the texture and swirly pattern works. My Favourite colour is Purple or Mauve

  16. Donna Kuehl says:

    What a thoughtful post. After spending the past week with my 2 grandsons I am thinking I need to work on hats for the growing boys! Tinker looks just perfect for the almost 2 year old who’s eyes smile when he smiles! Blues and greens are my favorite boy colors!

  17. Hat says:

    I’ve got all the latest ones but I’ve never got round to buying Dulcie and have never knit a sideways hat. I always come back to blues. Light or dark.

  18. Gaby Bäumler says:

    I love “Tucked“. My favourite colours are teal, aquamarin, petrol and fuchsia, purple (all cool shades)

  19. Maria Selene Ferrari says:

    It’s hard to choose among all those beauties, but I really love Coldharbour twist
    My favourite colour is something pink, purple and blue

  20. Kay McCarroll says:

    Having met Woolly at TNNA I must agree with everything you said. She’s a joy to be around. As for next hat will be Giostra one of few I haven’t knit. Love green.

  21. Liz says:

    Kilkanna – though it’s hard to choose, and I love blues, greens and purples

  22. Glenda says:

    So many lovely patterns but my favourite is Mayrose. Green and purple are my go to colours – love them

  23. pcollingwood says:

    I would love to win the Quoin pattern, my favourite colour is blue.

  24. Karen Bathke says:

    Third times a charm. There are too many too choose from but I’d have to choose Concentric, I love the crown. Right now my favorite color is. Teal.

  25. Jane says:

    Giostra! Having knit my way thru Bambeanies, I love Wooly’s Hats.
    Favorite color – blue/green/purple combos

  26. Carol says:

    I love Starburst with it’s deep ribbing and clever cable design. Taupes/browns appeal to me!

  27. cajacobs4 says:

    I’ve got my eye on Buzzba. I’d have to say purple is my favorite color, but it only barely edges out green!

  28. alifeinscience says:

    I think I may have found love in a Limpetiole.
    What colours??? Grey, black and green. Though Grey or Black are my favourites.

  29. Mary says:

    I’ve got more than a few WW hats knitted and I think Radial is next on my list. Well, after I get Imagiro off the needles, then Ravine and Taboosh, as I’ve got yarn for all 3. My favourite colour is orange! Not pumpkin or rust, but straight up orange. Mmm.

  30. Amy says:

    I’m finishing off a Kernmantle and then my next hat is another Tucked. I love that WW hats can look really different in different yarns that makes reknitting a design just as exciting as tackling it for the first time.
    My favourite colour is orange too – both citrus and rust… or a lovely mix of the two.

Leave a Reply

