2016 Clubs – Introducing Clare Devine

The 2016 yarn clubs are now on sale.

I knew that I wanted to offer sock knitters beautiful designs with wonderful fit – socks that are perfect. I’m so happy that Rachel Coopey is designing for us again, and I know that fans of her intricate designs will love her Yorkshire themes patterns.

I also wanted to work with a designer who was fascinated by different sock construction methods – and I’m thrilled that Clare Devine is designing six sock patterns for us this year. I thought it would be good to let Clare introduce herself to anyone who doesn’t know her and to tell you what she has planned for the 2016 clubs.

Over to you Clare.

Hi,

My name is Clare and I am really honoured to be featured as part of The Knitting Goddess yarn clubs for 2016. I thought it would be helpful to pop past the blog, introduce myself and give you a little bit of background on my inspiration for my design series.

Clare Devine PhotoB&W

Image copyright Clare Devine

Who am I?

I’m originally from South Africa but seem to be set on knitting my way around the world. I love to travel and we are in the process of relocating from England to Australia at the moment. Apart from my love of travel, I love knitting! I fell in love with knitting a few years back while travelling in Australia and have never looked back. It fills my days with creativity and has introduced me to the wonderful fibre community too.

One of my biggest knitting loves is socks – initially I wasn’t too keen on the idea of knitted socks, but you know what they say “never say never”. After my first sock I was hooked and rarely has a day gone by since then that I have not been knitting a sock of some description.

9780993047725-ColorPF.indd

Image copyright Clare Devine

My book Sock Anatomy explores my deep love for sock construction, with many more designs available on Ravelry. I have also designed socks for The Knitter, Simply Knitting and Let’s Knit.

What can you expect from my year with The Knitting Goddess?

Joy has created six incredible colours and I have had such a wonderful time working with each one as I create the designs for next year. The designs are all centred on the theme of ‘The Sky’ and each design explores different methods of sock construction.

Sky_1_Nic Jackson_Used under Creative Commons License_littlevisuals.co

The Sky holds a special place in my heart. I think it might have been growing up under a big blue African sky, but wherever I go I always look up. Even when the sky is hanging low and grey on the coldest winter days, there is something enchanting about it.

Sky_2_Nic Jackson_Used under Creative Commons License_littlevisuals.co

“In the sky there are always answers and explanations for everything: every pain, every suffering, joy and confusion”
– Ishmael Beah, author and human rights activist.

Sky_3_Nic Jackson_Used under Creative Commons License_littlevisuals.co

Over the course of the year the designs will features elements of texture, lace and cables, celebrating The Sky and showcasing the magical colours created by Joy. Each design will be easy and interesting to knit with clear instructions and hints and tips to help you get the most from your sock knitting experience.

How will the designs fit together?

I love experimenting with sock construction; it is one of my favourite parts of sock knitting. Piecing together different heels and toes to create socks that are fun to knit and fit beautifully fills me with joy.

Each design will focus on a different sock construction, including top down, toe up, various heel configurations and different types of toes. While I love experimenting with different ways of knitting socks I also know that some methods suit people more than others. To help you enjoy each month’s instalment to the full I will be offering opportunities to mix and match the design with the sock construction elements you love most. Some options for changing heels, toes and knitting directions will be included with each design.

Not joining in for all six designs? No problem. Each design is a stand alone pattern with all the details needed to create an outstanding pair of socks so you needn’t worry if you choose to join in for the some of the months and not others.

Questions?

I love hearing from knitters. If you have any questions about my collaboration with Joy or want some more details about my sock designs drop you can get in touch via the contact form on my website. I would be more than happy to answer questions about the clubs, although the finer points of each design and colours are kept under wraps until the packages arrive.

If you want to know more about me you can follow my adventures on my blog http://www.yarnandpointysticks.com, my Instagram account Clare.Devine and on Twitter @_claredevine. All of my designs can be found on Ravelry.

I am really looking forward to getting to know some of you next year.
Happy knitting,
Clare

LINKS
Website: http://www.yarnandpointysticks.com/
Instagram: http://instagram.com/clare.devine/
Ravelry: http://www.ravelry.com/designers/clare-devine
Twitter: https://twitter.com/_ClareDevine

Sky_Nic Jackson_Used under Creative Commons License_littlevisuals.co

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2016 Clubs – Introducing Clare Devine

  1. Anne Grieve says:

    So glad I’ve signed up for both clubs for next year. I’ve been a fan of Rachel’s designs for quite a while, and am now really excited to see the different approaches that Claire takes too. All that, combined with my favourite sock yarns….it’s going to be a great sock knitting year!

  2. Isla says:

    Arrgghhhh now I want both clubs!

  3. We can sort that out for you – I think it’s a tough choice as both designers are wonderful yet totally different.

Leave a Reply

