Simple Sewing

Over the weekend I’ve had some time to sew. The beauty of making simple things is that, especially compared to knitting, sewing is quick.

My first make is from one of the Japanese pattern books I seem to be collecting – a simple a- line dress which just needs seams, a hem and some kind of finish on the neck. It’s the kind of garment that reminds me why I love my overlocker. This is my second version of this – version one was made just to see how the pattern looked on me as I wasn’t sure how it would turn out. Sod’s law dictates that meant I made something I love and wore lots. So it’s going to be nice to have another version, this time with a bit more colour. The fabric is a cotton sweatshirt fabric, so this will be perfect for now, and for layering in the winter.

sewing3

Make number 2 is a simple drape top, based on a t-shirt top I’ve had for years and pretty much worn to death. The fabric is one of the lovely Indian cottons I bought from Mary Holt at Unravel. The website doesn’t show all of the fabric available , so trust me when I say that the shop is a treasure trove full of good things for yarn and fabric lovers.

sewing4

So having cleared some fabric from my stash, guess what I bought yesterday?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

