Again and Again and Again – update 1

Just over a month ago I blogged about needing to start improving my lampwork skills. More specifically, my ability to draw lines with very fine strands of glass. Read it here.

Life managed to get in the way a bit, but doesn’t it always?

I made it to my 100 bead total

beads1

Some are terrible, some I’m heading towards happy with. I’ve learnt a lot just by doing the same thing over and over again. Looking at what works. Looking at what goes wrong.

Some of the beads I’ve made are the big hole beads which fit Pandora, Troll and other bracelets.

These three are my favourites.

beads-2

I’m going to add silver cores to these three beads and give them away to a blog reader. To be in with a chance of winning leave me a comment below. I’d especially love to know how you work on improving a skill – all ideas gratefully received.

I’m happy to post these anywhere, so you don’t have to be in the UK to enter. The blog is set up so comments are moderated. so it might take a little while before your comment shows up.

I’ll pick a winner on Easter Monday at 1800 – so good luck.

Joy

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Again and Again and Again – update 1

  1. JenSpreadsheet says:

    Gorgeous beads! I have a really bad memory so I swear by lots of notes so I can repeat successes – OneNote is often my saviour.

  2. Vivian Fox says:

    Just look, look and look again.
    That is, really watch and observe what is happening with every action taken…..put instructions, booklets, You Tube videos etc to the back of your mind and really look at your own work. After years I’ve just worked out how to do really smooth colour transitions in intarsia by really looking at the yarns and not blindly following the numerous hints which I’ve collected over the years.

  3. crocheticknits says:

    Stunning beads! I have to read things through, then try and not overthink things. Unfortunately trial and error is the best way but I learn by physically doing something myself rather than someone telling me how to do it. I am slowly branching out with my knitting capabilities and trying new techniques, the thing to remember is even when it goes wrong its a learning curve and even when wrong its right as you know more so what not to do next time!

  4. Nina says:

    Try and remember you’re your own worst critic and keep pushing your limits. I keep trying more and more challenging patterns, subjects etc and I find after a while if I go back to something I previously found difficult, it’s now a lot easier. Hope that makes some sense!!! X

  5. Rachel Ross says:

    You have been amazingly productive. The beads all look wonderful to me. To improve at a skill I usually read about something, YouTube it, then do it again and again until it sticks. Or go on a course, or practise alongside an expert (especially when it’s knitting related at knit night.)

  6. Margaret says:

    The beads are fabulous! I have an Evolve bracelet which is the NZ version of Pandora so I would love one of those for it….
    So how do I improve a skill? I think the only way is to do it over and over again until you get it right.

  7. Your beads are as gorgeous as your yarn! I’m currently trying to improve my handwriting and I’m doing that through copying fonts I have printed out, just practicing at least once every day to try and make my letters the same as the ones I am copying! For me its perseverance and practice!

  8. Sue Spencer says:

    I go by that old adage…if at first you don’t succeed, try and try again….and then put whatever it was in the bin!

  9. Miranda says:

    Practice and repetition makes improvements… And asking others for help /advice.

  10. Christine Wilson says:

    Beads you say?? I’m thinking gorgeous little stitch markers ;o)

    I love learning through other people’s projects/alterations/suggestions then youtubing it and practice makes perfect :o) x

  11. Nicola says:

    By making all the mistakes, then trying again, and again… Easier with yarn which can be frogged and reused than with less forgiving materials. I am scared of dressmaking for that reason.

  12. Julie says:

    I love the colours of your beads, they are unique little works of art. Lampwork is one craft I haven’t tried. Yet! I believe in learning from the mistakes of others and practice, practice, practice. However they do say that the best items are created from happy accidents.

  13. Love all glass beads, and lampworking.

  14. Pingback: And The Winner Is…… | The Knitting Goddess Blog

  15. Paige Boling says:

    Beautiful work!!!

Leave a Reply

