Very Easy Ribbed Scarf

IMG_0684

This is one of these bits of knitting that is almost absurdly easy. I love ribbed scarves, but the thought of knitting what feels like miles of rib in one colour doesn’t appeal.

So I chose two sets of shaded Britsock colours – turquoise and gold – and got ribbing.

For speed I worked with the yarns held double, and used 3.75mm needles.

I worked two rows of each colour, so I started with the darkest gold and turquoie, then when they ran out the next darkest and so on until I finished with the lightest and brightest colours.

IMG_0691

My finished scarf measures 220 cm long and 14 wide – so it’s perfect for wrapping round you several times on freezing cold days.

IMG_0697

I’m sure this has been done before, so I’m not going to write up a full pattern. Instead my notes are below, so you can have a go at creating your own multicoloured masterpiece.

I worked my scarf over 35 stitches.

Row 1 : [knit 1, purl 1] to the last stitch, knit 1

Row 2 : Slip the first stitch, [knit 1, purl 1] to the last stitch, slip the last stitch.

I used russian joins to add in the new colours and I staggered the joins a little so they follow each other rather than occurring at exactly the same place.

IMG_0700

Seeing how the colours worked together was great fun. and I’d love to do an even stripier version with some mini skeins and a skein of a semi solid colour.

Want the yarn to make a scarf like this? You’ll find it here.

Happy ribbing.

Joy

This entry was posted in knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

