3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers

It’s the third Knitting and Crochet Blog Week – so my blog posts this week will be on a range of different yarny topics.

To read all about other peoples’ love of colour from those taking part in Knitting and crochet blog week, simply perform a Google search for the tag 3KCBWDAY1

I couldn’t have asked for a better topic to start with than Colour Lovers. It’s what I do. I start with mounds of white yarn and end up with heaps of colour.

I was the guest speaker at Kennet Valley Guild recently, and during the questions at the end someone asked if I ever got fed up of dyeing. Maybe it’s the the way I work (I don’t do set formulae or repeatable colours) – but putting colour onto yarn is the favourite part of my job. It changes constantly. Putting one colour next to another alters the look of both. Endlessly fascinating.

When I started to think about this blog post, I thought about the colours I love to dye, and the colours I love to knit with. I was a knitter for a long time before I was a dyer – and the things I loved to knit tended to have cables, lace, texture – the kind of stuff that gets swallowed up in too much variegated colour. So in order to knit with the yarns I dye and love I’ve found other things to knit. Simpler things with less going on, so that the colours rather than the pattern are the star.

At the moment I’m knitting hexipuffs for a Beekeeper’s Quilt. I’m making enough hexipuffs to cover the sofa which lives in my workroom – so I think I’ll need about 1200. The thing I’m enjoying most is the rare times I remember to take photos and get all the hexipuffs arranged in neat rows – and I’ going to have so much fun deciding what colours go where when I finally stop knitting.

Colour – couldn’t live without it.

Jx

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3KCBWDAY1 – Colour Lovers

  1. Sarah Hughes says:

    TRU DAT 🙂
    Colour rocks my world too
    xXx

  2. Absolutely. No one could look at your yarn and not know that!

Leave a Reply

