Colour

I’m dyeing up several new sock yarn colours today – and while they’re drying I thought I’d show you what else is drying in the sunshine.

silk ribbon

Silk ribbon

These are being dyes up for an embroiderer’s fair in November. I love how silk takes colour, and how vibrant the skeins look.

felt

A couple of weeks ago I started going to a felting class on Monday evenings, and decided that my first project should be a piece of felt big enough to use as a seat cover for the chair I’m reupholstering. Turns out that making felt is much quicker than managing webbing, hessian and stuffing, so the felt is finished and waiting.

I used hand dyed BFL for this, starting with a darker base then layering pink and orange stripes of fibre. Where there were gaps the darker colour shows through.

Great fun.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

